STP 400 Preview

April 21, 2013 by
Russell LaBounty/Autostock

Russell LaBounty/Autostock

Last weekend at Texas Motor Speedway, NASCAR fans tuned into the Kyle Busch show as the driver of the No. 18 Interstate Batteries Toyota Camry not only won the NASCAR Nationwide Series race on Friday night, but the Sprint Cup race on Saturday night. On Sunday, the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series heads to the newly paved Kansas Speedway.

Kansas Speedway is a 1.5 mile D-shaped tri-oval located in Kansas City, Kansas. The turns at Kansas Speedway are 17-20 degrees of banking, while the front stretch is 10.4-11 degrees, and the backstretch is 5 degrees of banking.

In this race last year, Denny Hamlin had his Toyota hooked up after the final pit stop, and was able to hold off a charging Martin Truex, Jr. to capture his second victory of the 2012 season. Hamlin is unable to defend his victory as he is still sitting out from his back injury  that he sustained in the last lap at Auto Club Speedway in March. Brian Vickers will be behind the wheel of the No. 11 FedEx Toyota Camry for Joe Gibbs Racing. 

Matt Kenseth will lead the field to green on Sunday afternoon. Kenseth beat his former Roush-Fenway Racing teammate for the starting spot, and a new qualifying track record.

Tate Stevens, the X Factor season two winner, will sing the national anthem for the STP 400, while Chiefs offensive linemen Jeff Allen and Donald Stephenson will serve as honorary officials Coverage for the STP 400 from Kansas Speedway begins with prerace coverage at 12:30pm EST on Fox. Green flag is scheduled to fly at 1:16pm EST.

Starting Lineup:

1. Matt Kenseth
2. Carl Edwards
3. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
4. Sam Hornish Jr.
5. Kyle Busch
6. Aric Almirola
7. Martin Truex Jr.
8. Mark Martin
9. Ryan Newman
10. Clint Bowyer
11. Greg Biffle
12. Paul Menard
13. Kurt Busch
14. Jamie McMurray
15. Marcos Ambrose
16. Brian Vickers (substitute for Denny Hamlin)
17. Kevin Harvick
18. Tony Stewart
19. Juan Pablo Montoya
20. Jeff Burton
21. Jimmie Johnson
22. Joey Logano
23. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
24. Elliott Sadler
25. Danica Patrick
26. David Ragan
27. Kasey Kahne
28. David Gilliland
29. Michael McDowell
30. Casey Mears
31. David Reutimann
32. Travis Kvapil
33. Brad Keselowski
34. Bobby Labonte
35. Mike Bliss
36. Josh Wise
37. Timmy Hill
38. David Stremme
39. Landon Cassill
40. J.J. Yeley
41. Regan Smith
42. Dave Blaney
43. Jeff Gordon (Wrecked in Qualifying)

My Prediction: 

STP 400

My prediction for the STP 400 is Carl Edwards. While he has never won at Kansas Speedway, he has eight top 10s in 11 starts at the 1.5-mile oval. Edwards has a current streak where he has finished 10th or better in six of the last seven races at Kansas. The closest Edwards ever came to winning was in 2008, when running second on the final lap he attempted a bonsai move on leader Jimmie Johnson heading in Turn 3 that ultimately proved futile. Something tells me Edwards will be so excited to flip after 400 miles at Kansas.

Alright NASCAR Nation it’s your turn to be heard….Who is your pick to end up in Gatorade Victory Lane?