Kasey Kahne, driver of the #5 Farmers Insurance Chevrolet, poses in Victory Lane after qualifying for the pole position in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Hollywood Casino 400 at Kansas Speedway on October 19, 2012 in Kansas City, Kansas. (Photo by Geoff Burke/Getty Images for NASCAR)

All 46 drivers turned a faster qualifying lap then the previous track record of 180.856 mph set by Matt Kenseth in October 2005, but it was Kasey Kahne who will have his name scribed in the record books.

On Friday afternoon, Kahne won the pole for Sunday’s Hollywood Casino 400 at Kansas Speedway. Kahne’s lap was 28.219 seconds, 191.360 mph. This is Kahne’s fourth Coors Light Pole Award of the 2012 season and his 26th pole award  overall, which now ties him for 26th in the all-time series poles list with Bobby Labonte.

Coverage for the Hollywood Casino 400 begins with the NASCAR Countdown on ESPN. Clint Bowyer, last week’s winner at Charlotte Motor Speedway, will be in the in-race reporter.

Starting Lineup (Bold is Chase Drivers)

1. Kasey Kahne
2. Mark Martin
3. Clint Bowyer
4. Kyle Busch
5. Aric Almirola
6. Ryan Newman
7. Jimmie Johnson
8. Joey Logano
9. Denny Hamlin
10. Kevin Harvick
11. Greg Biffle
12. Matt Kenseth
13. AJ Allmendinger
14. Paul Menard
15. Sam Hornish Jr.
16. Martin Truex Jr.
17. Carl Edwards
18. Marcos Ambrose
19. Jeff Gordon
20. Jeff Burton
21. Jamie McMurray
22. Bobby Labonte
23. Michael McDowell
24. Juan Pablo Montoya
25. Brad Keselowski
26. Landon Cassill
27. JJ Yeley
28. Casey Mears
29. Kurt Busch
30. Mike Bliss
31. Travis Kvapil
32. Trevor Bayne
33. Tony Stewart
34. Reed Sorenson
35. Scott Speed
36. Joe Nemechek
37. David Ragan
38. Kelly Bires
39. David Gilliland
40. Regan Smith(Sub for Dale Jr)
41. Danica Patrick
42. Dave Blaney
43. Timmy Hill

Did Not Qualify: 

Cole Whitt
David Stremme
Josh Wise

Leave a Comment

Your email is never shared.
Required fields are marked *