Credit: Sean Gardner/NASCAR via Getty Images

Credit: Sean Gardner/NASCAR via Getty Images

Matt Kenseth, who one year ago announced he was leaving Roush-Fenway Racing for Joe Gibbs Racing, is on pace for his best season in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series.

Kenseth won his fourth race Sunday in the Quaker State 400 at Kentucky, 14 hours after the race was suppose to be ran but was postponed due to rain.

He snatched the victory that Jimmie Johnson had dominated. Johnson led 182 of 267 laps and seemed to have an answer for anything his competitors threw at him, breaking clear and pulling away into commanding leads time and time again. However, Johnson would lose control of his car entering turn, spin and bring out the last caution of the day on lap 246. 

Jamie McMurray, Clint Bowyer, Joey Logano, and Kyle Busch round out the top five. Johnson would finish ninth.

“I don’t even know what to say guys! This is unbelievable! Thank you so much,” Kenseth radioed his crew.

Cautions were the name of the game on Sunday afternoon in Sparta, Kentucky as the yellow waved eight times for 35 laps.

The race was red-flagged at one point for nearly 19 minutes after Kurt Busch caused a pileup coming into turn one. Busch slid into Brad Keselowski causing him to lose control of the No. 2 Ford.

Greg Biffle, Travis Kvapil, Dave Blaney, Paul Menard, and Landon Cassill also were involved.

Keselowski was not impressed when told that Busch had taken responsibility for the wreck.

“I’m still wrecked,” he said. “He’s smarter than that.”

Kentucky also marked the end of Bobby Labonte’s 704 consecutive race streak, the second longest active streak behind Jeff Gordon.

The next race for the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series is Saturday, July 6th from Daytona International Speedway. Following the race, the track will undergo a major overhaul. For more details on the lasted renovations check out my article, Daytona International Speedway to get Major Overhaul.

Unofficial Race Results:

  1. Matt Kenseth
  2. Jamie McMurray
  3. Clint Bowyer
  4. Joey Logano
  5. Kyle Busch
  6. Kurt Busch
  7. Martin Truex Jr.
  8. Jeff Gordon
  9. Jimmie Johnson
  10. Kevin Harvick
  11. Kasey Kahne
  12. Dale Earnhardt Kr
  13. Marcos Ambrose
  14. Ryan Newman
  15. Aric Almirola
  16. Juan Pablo Montoya
  17. Ricky Stenhouse
  18. Casey Mears
  19. Jeff Burton
  20. Tony Stewart
  21. Carl Edwards
  22. AJ Allmendinger
  23. Danica Patrick
  24. Austin Dillon
  25. David Stremme
  26. David Ragan
  27. David Reutimann
  28. David Gilliland
  29. Ken Schrader
  30. Paul Menard
  31. Brian Vickers
  32. JJ Yeley
  33. Brad Keselowski
  34. Greg Biffle
  35. Denny Hamlin
  36. Landon Cassill
  37. Joe Nemechek
  38. Michael McDowell
  39. Josh Wise
  40. Dave Blaney
  41. Mike Bliss
  42. Travis Kvapil
  43. Scott Riggs

Leave a Comment

Your email is never shared.
Required fields are marked *