Brad Keselowski finishes first today in the NASCAR race in Dover, Del. Photo Credit: Patrick Smith for Getty Images NASCAR

Brad Keselowski had just enough fuel on Sunday to take the checkered flag in the AAA 400 from Dover International Speedway, to capture his second win in three weeks.

The Penske Racing driver won the opening race in the Chase for the Sprint Cup at Chicagoland Speedway. With two wins under his belt, Keselowski has moved back into the points lead in the Chase for the Sprint Cup championship.

While Keselowski led only 14 laps to take the victory, it was Joe Gibbs Racing teammates, Denny Hamlin and Kyle Busch, who were the dominant drivers on Sunday. However both pitted with 10 laps to go from first and second. This opened the door for the No. 2 to come through and win.

“We were just a top-five car all weekend,” Keselowski said. “My guys just kept us there. When you’re in top five, you’re in good position for things to happen.”

Matt Kenseth saw his Chase title hopes go to the wayside as he suffered a broken track bar and wrecked again dropping him to 12th and a season worse 72 points out of the lead. While his Roush-Fenway Racing teammate, Greg Biffle, also suffered a huge set back which likely ended his Chase title dreams as well.

Jeff Gordon, who has had a rough enter into the Chase, finished second but made up very little ground in the title hunt, moving from 12th to 10th but gaining no points on Keselowski.

Keselowski heads to Talladega Superspeedway as the hottest driver in the Chase. He now has the points lead by 5 over Jimmie Johnson, 16 over Hamlin, and 25 over Bowyer. Bowyer has won the last two October Talladega races.

“There’s a lot of racing to go, a ton of racing to go,” Keselowski said. “Certainly, we’re in good position.

Unofficial Race Results: (Bold is Chase drivers)

  1. Brad Keselowski
  2. Jeff Gordon
  3. Mark Martin
  4. Jimmie Johnson
  5. Carl Edwards
  6. Martin Truex Jr.
  7. Kyle Busch
  8. Denny Hamlin
  9. Clint Bowyer
  10. Joey Logano
  11. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  12. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  13. Kevin Harvick
  14. Bobby Labonte
  15. Kasey Kahne
  16. Greg Biffle
  17. Regan Smith
  18. Marcos Ambrose
  19. Aric Almirola
  20. Tony Stewart
  21. Ryan Newman
  22. Paul Menard
  23. Kurt Busch
  24. Jamie McMurray
  25. Sam Hornish Jr.
  26. Juan Pablo Montoya
  27. Jeff Burton
  28. Danica Patrick
  29. Travis Kvapil
  30. David Ragan
  31. Casey Mears
  32. David Gilliland
  33. T.J. Bell
  34. JJ Yeley
  35. Matt Kenseth
  36. Landon Cassill
  37. Josh Wise
  38. Michael McDowell
  39. Joe Nemechek
  40. Scott Speed
  41. Dave Blaney
  42. Scott Riggs
  43. Reed Sorenson

Leave a Comment

Your email is never shared.
Required fields are marked *