Credit: Streeter Lecka/Getty Images
Jimmie Johnson celebrates in Victory Lane after winning the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series TUMS Fast Relief 500 at Martinsville Speedway on October 28, 2012 in Ridgeway, Virginia.

He’s back!

On Sunday, Jimmie Johnson held off Kyle Busch with five laps to go to win his seventh grandfather clock, a prize given to the winner at Martinsville Speedway, and take the season points lead by two points with three races to go.

“I’m ecstatic about the win today. I’m ecstatic about the points lead,” Johnson said. “But this is no cakewalk.”

The win on Sunday was Johnson’s fourth of the season.

Johnson’s teammate, Dale Earnhardt Jr. finished 21st in his return to racing after suffering a concussion at Talladega Superspeedway earlier this month.

While the race for the championship got interesting, it also took out another competitor. Denny Hamlin seemed to be poised to challenge for the 2012 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series championship but had an electrical problem that sent him to a 33rd finish.

With Jimmie Johnson’s win today Chevrolet has clinched the Manufacturers’ Championship for this season.

The next race for the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series is Sunday, November 4th, at Texas Motor Speedway.

Race Results: (Bold is Chase drivers):

  1. Jimmie Johnson
  2. Kyle Busch
  3. Kasey Kahne
  4. Aric Almirola
  5. Clint Bowyer
  6. Brad Keselowski
  7. Jeff Gordon
  8. Brian Vickers
  9. Bobby Labonte
  10. Greg Biffle
  11. Ryan Newman
  12. Paul Menard
  13. Sam Hornish Jr.
  14. Matt Kenseth
  15. Kurt Busch
  16. Joey Logano
  17. Jamie McMurray
  18. Carl Edwards
  19. Landon Cassill
  20. Juan Pablo Montoya
  21. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  22. Jeff Burton
  23. Martin Truex Jr.
  24. Marcos Ambrose
  25. Casey Mears
  26. David Ragan
  27. Tony Stewart
  28. AJ Allmendinger
  29. Ken Schrader
  30. David Gilliland
  31. Travis Kvapil
  32. Kevin Harvick
  33. Denny Hamlin
  34. Stephen Leicht
  35. Dave Blaney
  36. David Reutimann
  37. Scott Speed
  38. Josh Wise
  39. Michael McDowell
  40. David Stremme
  41. Joe Nemechek
  42. Scott Riggs
  43. Reed Sorenson