Credit Andy Lyons/Getty Images

Credit Andy Lyons/Getty Images

The questions asked during NASCAR’s Sprint Cup qualifying on Friday afternoon where how many drivers would raise the Kentucky Speedway’s record and by how much.

NASCAR’s Most Popular Driver, Dale Earnhardt, Jr., provided the answer of the eight that broke it, clocking in at 183.636mph to wrest the mark from Hendrick Motorsports teammate, Jimmie Johnson, and the pole for Saturday night’s Quaker State 400.

Junior’s speed was early 2 mph faster than Johnson’s from last June, which he needed to keep Johnson from keeping the record. 

It’s the 12th career pole for Earnhardt and his first since the fall race at Richmond International Raceway last season. Last year at Kentucky, he started seventh and finished fourth.

Kyle Busch will start fourth and Marcos Ambrose starts fifth. There were just 43 cars at Kentucky, so no one will miss the race.

Coverage for the Quaker State 400 from Kentucky Speedway  begins at 6:30EST on TNT, with the green flag scheduled to drop around 7:45pm EST.

Starting Lineup:

  1. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  2. Carl Edwards
  3. Jimmie Johnson
  4. Kyle Busch
  5. Marcos Ambrose
  6. Denny Hamlin
  7. Ryan Newman
  8. Brad Keselowski
  9. Brian Vickers
  10. Juan Pablo Montoya
  11. Joey Logano
  12. Jeff Gordon
  13. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  14. Jeff Burton
  15. Clint Bowyer
  16. Matt Kenseth
  17. AJ Allmendinger
  18. Aric Almirolla
  19. Martin Truex Jr.
  20. Greg Biffle
  21. Kasey Kahne
  22. Kevin Harvick
  23. Jamie McMurray
  24. Paul Menard
  25. Tony Stewart
  26. Austin Dillon
  27. Kurt Busch
  28. David Stremme
  29. Danica Patrick
  30. Landon Cassill
  31. Casey Mears
  32. Dave Blaney
  33. Michael McDowell
  34. David Gilliland
  35. JJ Yeley
  36. David Reutimann
  37. Josh Wise
  38. David Ragan
  39. Mike Bliss
  40. Travis Kvapil
  41. Joe Nemechek
  42. Scott Riggs
  43. Ken Schrader


Leave a Comment

Your email is never shared.
Required fields are marked *